Milk Blood Heat!

Debut story collection set in Florida plus hard rock grooves from New Orleans and Memphis Americana!

February 27, 2021 at 7 pm (CT) Mississippi Public Broadcasting; 9 pm (CT) Alabama Public Radio; 3 pm (ET) University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. Thursdays 6 pm (CT) University of Mississippi; Fridays 9 am (CT) WYXR Memphis Community Radio

This week we’ll feature an interview and reading by Dantiel W. Moniz from Milk Blood Heat, her live-wire debut story collection, plus gonzo New Orleans goth with DiNOLA (Alabama Shakedown) and Memphis Americana songwriter, Davis Coen (Hurricane Man).

Hosts: Jim Dees and our house band, the Yalobushwhackers

Air times:

Saturday, Feb. 27 – 7pm (CT) Mississippi Public Broadcasting

9pm (CT) Alabama Public Radio

3pm (ET) University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Thursdays 6pm (CT) WUMS – University of Mississippi

Fridays 9am (CT) WYXR Memphis Community Radio



Dantiel W. Moniz

Dantiel W. Moniz’s debut story collection is, Milk Blood Heat (Grove Press). The eleven stories depict the sultry lives of Floridians in intergenerational tales that contemplate human connection, race, womanhood, reckoning and forgiveness.

The book is an Indie Next Pick and one of “55 Most Anticipated Books of 2021” by O, The Oprah Magazine.

“Dark and lushly layered, these stories will bewitch you.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Dantiel W. Moniz’s fiction has appeared or is forthcoming in the Paris Review, Tin House, Ploughshares, the Yale Review, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, and elsewhere. Milk Blood Heat is her first book. She lives in Northeast Florida.



DiNOLA is a New Orleans-based rock band featuring Jimmy Ford on drums, Sue Ford on vocals, Eric Laws on electric guitar and keys, and Eddie Payne on electric bass. The band belongs to a rather eclectic genre which can be described as a re-imagining of heavy British blues in a manner that echoes the rhythm and gothic voodoo of New Orleans.

Their releases include the album Up High, the EP I Wanna Die In New Orleans and the single, Ill Wind.

Davis Coen and the Downstream Drifters

For his Thacker appearance, country-blues artist Davis Coen is joined by the Downstream Drifters: Nate Robbins (bass), Eric Carlton (keyboard) and Ryan Rogers (drums).

His latest album is These Things Shall Pass, a spiritual-based project with songs such as “What A Friend We Have In Jesus” and “Old Rugged Cross,” and the title cut, Stuart Hamblen’s “These Things Shall Pass,” famously covered by country music legends Hank Snow and Johnny Cash.

Coen’s previous albums include Hard Luck Café, Crying the Blues and Get Back In.